Perlensucher

Back

Ed Ruscha - Stains

2014

Edward ‘Ed’ Joseph Ruscha (*1937, Omaha, Nebraska) studied Painting, Photography and Graphic Design at the Chouinard Art Institute in Los Angeles. The artist draws his aesthetic inspiration from the mass media, films and the American living environment of the 1950s and 60s. In stylised form, he depicts the phenomena of mass culture and motifs from everyday life, such as advertising signs, company logos and petrol stations in a photorealist manner. In addition to paintings, self-published artist books in small editions begin to appear more frequently since the 1960s. Ruscha’s central theme is the relationship between word and image, the interdependency between signifier and the signified.
Ed Ruscha is considered one of the most pioneering artists of the last fifty years. He lives and works in Los Angeles.

Ed Ruscha: Stains, 1969, installation view Museum Ludwig, detail view © Edward J. Ruscha IV, Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Cologne, Schlier, Britta, rba_d037446_09

Stains, 1969
The artist book titled Stains from 1969 is comprised of 75 sheets of paper. On 72 of these, Ruscha made stains using various substances, such as fruit and vegetable juices, blood, and gunpowder. The central positioning of the stains corresponds with Ruscha’s deliberately non-artistic approach. In the title of each sheet, the artist painstakingly noted which fluid was used in each case.

His humorous ‘romance with liquids’ is exceptional within Ruscha’s oeuvre and continues to influence him to this day. Since then, instead of oil paint, the artist increasingly uses blood, as well as blackberry and carrot juice, as an artistic medium.

Back

Perlensucher

Zurück

Ed Ruscha - Stains

2014

Edward „Ed“ Joseph Ruscha (*1937, Omaha) studierte Malerei, Fotografie und Graphisches Design am Couniard Art Institute in Los Angeles. Seine ästhetische Inspiration bezieht der Künstler aus Massenmedien, Filmen und der amerikanischen Lebenswelt der 1950er und 1960er Jahre. In stilisierter Form gibt er Phänomene der Massenkultur und Motive des Alltags, wie Werbeschilder, Firmensignets oder Tankstellen in fotorealistischer Manier wieder. Neben die Gemälde treten seit den 1960er Jahren zunehmend Bücher, die er selbstständig in kleinen Editionen verlegt und vertreibt. Ruschas zentrales Thema ist das Verhältnis von Wort und Bild, das Wechselspiel zwischen Signifikat und Signifikant.
Ed Ruscha gilt als einer der wegweisenden Künstler der letzten 50 Jahre. Er lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles.

Ed Ruscha: Stains, 1969, Installationsansicht Museum Ludwig, Detailansicht © Edward J. Ruscha IV, Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, Schlier, Britta, rba_d037446_09

Stains, 1969
Das Buch mit dem Titel Stains, 1969 beinhaltet 75 Blätter. Auf 72 von ihnen hat Ruscha je einen Fleck unter Verwendung verschiedener Substanzen wie Frucht- und Gemüsesäfte, Blut oder Schießpulver aufgetragen. Die mittige Positionierung entspricht dabei einem bewusst gewählten unkünstlerischen Ansatz. Im Titel jedes Blattes protokollierte der Künstler jeweils akribisch, um welche Flüssigkeit es sich handelt.

Seine humoristische „romance with liquids“ ragt aus dem Werk Ruschas heraus und beeinflusste ihn nachhaltig: Anstelle von Ölfarbe verwendete der Künstler seitdem vermehrt Blut, Brombeer- oder Karottensaft als künstlerisches Medium.

Zurück