Perlensucher

Back

Mary Bauermeister - Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei

2019

Mary Bauermeister (b. 1934 in Frankfurt am Main) lives and works in Rösrath near Cologne. After studying at the Ulm School of Design and the State School for Art in Saarbrücken, she opened her studio on Lintgasse in Cologne in 1960. Through numerous exhibitions and action events with such artists as Joseph Beuys, John Cage, and Wolf Vostell, it quickly evolved into a birthplace of the Fluxus movement and substantially contributed to the history of the Cologne art scene after 1945. Bauermeister’s first exhibition took place at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam in 1962. Shortly thereafter she moved to New York. The artist made a name for herself there particularly with her “lens boxes” starting in 1964. Her marriage to the composer Karlheinz Stockhausen and the couple’s plans to start a family led them to return to Germany at the beginning of the 1970s. Today Bauermeister’s works are found in such collections as the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York; the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington, DC; and the museum FLUXUS+ in Potsdam.

Mary Bauermeister: Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959 © VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020
Mary Bauermeister: Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959 © VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020

Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959

As a supplement to Mary Bauermeister’s Magnetbild Schwarz-Weiss (1958), which was purchased by the Museum Ludwig, the Perlensucher have acquired thirty-four drawings by the artist.
With the aid of sketches and written notes, the drawings provide detailed information about the artist’s thoughts on her pictorial program and the possible variations of the four-part, painted work on wood. The series starts with the planning of the proportions of the individual elements, followed by the remaining thirty-three sheets, which feature schematic depictions of the different possible arrangements of the detachable magnetic plates.
Whereas Bauermeister’s Magnetbild Schwarz-Weiss was visually inspired by Abstract Expressionism, the Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei stress a Conceptual, Minimalist focus. With their approach based on logical reasoning, the drawings are demonstrations of the intersection of scientific and artistic practices.

Back

Perlensucher

Zurück

Mary Bauermeister - Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei

2019

Mary Bauermeister (*1934 in Frankfurt am Main) lebt und arbeitet in Rösrath bei Köln. Nach Ausbildungsjahren an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Ulm und der Staatlichen Schule für Kunst in Saarbrücken eröffnete sie 1960 ihr Atelier in der Kölner Lintgasse. Dieses entwickelte sich durch zahlreiche Ausstellungs- und Aktionsveranstaltungen mit Künstlern wie Joseph Beuys, John Cage und Wolf Vostell schon bald zu einem Geburtsort der Fluxusbewegung und trug maßgeblich zur Geschichte der Kölner Kunstszene nach 1945 bei. Bauermeisters erste Ausstellung fand 1962 im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam statt. Wenig später folgte der Umzug nach New York. Bekanntheit erlangte die Künstlerin dort vor allem ab 1964 durch ihre „Linsenkästen“. Die Hochzeit mit dem Komponisten Karlheinz Stockhausen und die gemeinsame Familiengründung veranlassten sie schließlich Anfang der 70er Jahre dazu, nach Deutschland zurückzukehren. Werke von ihr befinden sich heute unter anderem in den New Yorker Sammlungen des Museum of Modern Art, des Whitney Museum of American Art und des Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum sowie im Hirshhorn Museum in Washington D.C. und im museum FLUXUS+ in Potsdam.

Mary Bauermeister: Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959 © VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020
Mary Bauermeister: Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959 © VG Bildkunst, Bonn 2020

Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei, 1959

In Ergänzung zu Mary Bauermeisters Magnetbild Schwarz-Weiß (1958), welches vom Museum Ludwig angekauft wurde, erwarben die Perlensucher 34 Zeichnungen der Künstlerin.
Anhand von Skizzen und schriftlichen Notizen liefern diese im Detail Aufschluss zu den Überlegungen der Künstlerin über das Bildprogramm und die Variationsmöglichkeiten der vierteiligen, gemalten Arbeit auf Holz. Angefangen bei der Planung der Größenverhältnisse der einzelnen Elemente folgen auf den übrigen 33 Seiten schematische Darstellungen der unterschiedlichen Arrangierungsmöglichkeiten der abnehmbaren Magnetplatten.
Während Bauermeisters Magnetbild Schwarz-Weiß visuell an den Abstrakten Expressionismus angelehnt ist, verdeutlichen die Möglichkeiten Serieller Malerei hingegen eine konzeptuell, vom Minimalismus geprägte Ausrichtung. Die Zeichnungen sind in ihrem auf logischem Denken beruhenden Ansatz Zeugnisse der Schnittstelle zwischen wissenschaftlicher und künstlerischer Praxis.

Zurück