Sponsorship

Substantial Support

Founded in 1985, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst brings people together, who are ‘experts on and lovers of art; people for whom this subtle combination entails a sense of responsibility for art,’ as stated in the preamble to the Gesellschaft’s charter. Since its foundation, the Gesellschaft has supported a number of the museum’s various exhibitions and projects

Selection of previous sponsorships:

Permanent Collection at the Museum Ludwig

The permanent collection with outstanding works of modern and contemporary art is the heart of the Museum Ludwig. Yilmaz Dziewior, Director of the Museum Ludwig, and his team of curators have conceived a new presentation of the permanent collection, which was completed in late March 2016.

The Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst is supporting the presentation of the permanent collection in the years 2015–2017 with a total of 100,000 Euros. The City of Cologne doubles this amount with a matching grant. The Museum Ludwig thus receives a total of 100,000 Euros in 2015 Euro, and 50,000 Euros each for the years 2016 and 2017.

Additional information on the permanent collection

Installation view Museum Ludwig, first floor, Edward Kienholz, The Portable War Memorial, 1959-1974 © Kienholz, L.A., Louver, Venice, CA Ronald B. Kitaj, Casting, 1967 © R.B. Litaj Estate Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Cologne/Britta Schlier

Exhibitions

The realisation of exhibitions is one of the core activities of the Museum Ludwig. One focus of our commitment is thus also the support of special exhibitions.

Since 2001 the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst has substantially supported the presentation of more than twenty exhibitions in the Museum Ludwig, including: Art Into Life! Collector Wolfgang Hahn and the 60s (2017), Fernand Léger. Painting in Space (2016), HERE AND NOW at Museum Ludwig: Heimo Zobernig (2016), Ludwig goes Pop (2014), David Hockney (2012), Joel Shapiro (2011) and Edward Hopper (2004).

To the exhibitions of the Museum Ludwig

Test
Installation view Ludwig goes Pop, Museum Ludwig 2014-2015 (from left to right) Roy Lichtenstein: Mirror in Six Panels, 1970, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016, James Rosenquist: Rainbow, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016, David Hockney: Self-Portrait with Blue Guitar, 1977 and Atlantic Crossing, 1965 © David Hockney, in the foreground: John de Andrea: Untitled, 1977 © John de Andrea, Photo: Jürgen Schulzki

Wolfgang Hahn Prize

The annual awarding of the Wolfgang Hahn Prize is one of the highlights of our commitment to the Museum Ludwig. The prize is endowed with a maximum of 100,000 Euros financed from contributions and donations from our members and earmarked for the acquisition of a work by the honoured artist for the collection of the museum. The sponsors BAUWENS and Ebner Stolz and support the evening of the award ceremony and a publication on the acquisition.

Additional information on the Wolfgang Hahn Prize

Andrea Fraser at the Museum Ludwig, works in the background: Andrea Fraser: Schildkröte, 2001 (first picture from the left), Kunst muss hängen (Art Must Hang), 2001 (Videoprojection) © Andrea Fraser, Photo: Jürgen Schulzki

Catalogues and Publications

With the goal of fostering the interest in and the engagement with art on various levels, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst has published or helped to publish numerous exhibition catalogues and publications on current topics revolving around modern andcontemporary art, including the publications accompanying the Wolfgang Hahn Prize, the catalogue to the exhibition ‘Joan Mitchell. Retrospective. Her Life and Paintings’, and the new catalogue of the collection of the Museum Ludwig, which is currently being prepared for publication.

To the publications of the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst

To the publications of the Museum Ludwig

kunst:dialoge and "Junge Nacht"

The so-called ‘kunst:dialoge’ provide a platform for an open exchange on topics of modern and contemporary art among peers. Art history students from the universities in Cologne, Bonn and Düsseldorf are trained as art mediators and answer art-related questions in the Museum Ludwig on selected dates. The highlight of the program of the ‘kunst:dialoge’ is the Junge Nacht': Here, art enthusiasts are given the opportunity to discover the collection of the Museum Ludwig together with thirty young experts until midnight.

The ‘kunst:dialoge’ were initiated in 2003 by a group of young students in cooperation with the Museum Ludwig and the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst and are supported by the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst.

Additional information on the ‘kunst:dialoge’

Young art enthusiasts at the Museum Ludwig © Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst

Special Projects and Lectures

It is especially ‘out of the ordinary’ events and projects that make an institution like the Museum Ludwig a lively and innovative venue. Lectures, film screenings, readings and musical performances open new perspectives onto art. Time and again, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst thus supports individual events and projects, such as former director Kasper König’s benefit auction ‘Artists for the Museum Ludwig’ in 2012.

With the public lecture series Art in Context the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst also invites a broad public to engage in selected topics revolving around art theory and practice (free admission).

Referees of the series of lectures "Art in Context" © Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst

Förderungen

Substanzielle Unterstützung

1985 gegründet, bringt die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst Menschen zusammen, „die Kunstkenner und Kunstliebhaber sind; Menschen, bei denen sich aus dieser subtilen Verknüpfung eine Verpflichtung gegenüber der Kunst ergibt“, wie es in der Präambel der Gründungsurkunde heißt. Seitdem gelingt es immer wieder von Neuem, Ausstellungen und Projekte des Museums zu fördern.

Auswahl bisheriger Förderungen:

Ständige Sammlung des Museum Ludwig

Die ständige Sammlung mit herausragenden Werken moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst ist das Herzstück des Museum Ludwig. Dr. Yilmaz Dziewior, Direktor des Museums, und sein Kuratorenteam haben eine Neupräsentation der ständigen Sammlung erarbeitet, die Ende März 2016 abgeschlossen werden konnte.

Die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst unterstützt die Präsentation der ständigen Sammlung in den Jahren 2015, 2016 und 2017 mit insgesamt 100.000 Euro. Die Stadt Köln verdoppelt diese Summe. Das Museum Ludwig erhält damit 2015 insgesamt 100.000 Euro, 2016 und 2017 jeweils 50.000 Euro.

Weitere Informationen zur Sammlung des Museum Ludwig

Installationsansicht Museum Ludwig 1. OG Edward Kienholz, The Portable War Memorial, 1959-1974 © Kienholz, L.A., Louver, Venice, CA Ronald B. Kitaj, Casting, 1967 © R.B. Litaj Estate Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln/Britta Schlier

Sonderausstellungen

Die Umsetzung von Ausstellungen gehört zur Kernaufgaben des Museum Ludwig. Im Mittelpunkt unseres Engagements steht dementsprechend die Förderung von Sonderausstellungen.

Seit 2001 hat die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst die Präsentation von mehr als 20 Ausstellungen des Museum Ludwig maßgeblich unterstützt, darunter: Kunst ins Leben! Der Sammler Wolfgang Hahn und die 60er Jahre (2017), Fernand Léger. Malerei im Raum (2016), HIER UND JETZT im Museum Ludwig: Heimo Zobernig (2016), Ludwig goes Pop (2014), David Hockney (2012), Joel Shapiro (2011) und Edward Hopper (2004).

Zu den Ausstellungen des Museum Ludwig

Test
Installationsansicht Ludwig goes Pop, Museum Ludwig 2014-2015 (v.l.n.r.) Roy Lichtenstein: Mirror in Six Panels, 1970, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016, James Rosenquist: Rainbow, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016, David Hockney: Self-Portrait with Blue Guitar, 1977 und Atlantic Crossing, 1965 © David Hockney, im Vordergrund: John de Andrea: Untitled, 1977 © John de Andrea, Foto: Jürgen Schulzki

Wolfgang-Hahn-Preis

Die jährliche Verleihung des Wolfgang-Hahn-Preis ist einer der Höhepunkte unseres Engagements für das Museum Ludwig. Das Preisgeld in Höhe von maximal 100.000 Euro wird aus Beiträgen und Spenden unserer Mitglieder finanziert und fließt in den Erwerb eines Werks des ausgezeichneten Künstlers oder der ausgezeichneten Künstlerin für die Sammlung des Museums. Die Sponsoren Ebner Stolz und BAUWENS unterstützen den Abend der Preisverleihung und die Erstellung einer Publikation zur Erwerbung.

Weitere Informationen zum Wolfgang-Hahn-Preis

Andrea Fraser im Museum Ludwig, Werke im Hintergrund: Andrea Fraser: Schildkröte, 2001 (erstes Bild von links), Kunst muss hängen (Art Must Hang), 2001 (Videoprojektion) © Andrea Fraser, Foto: Jürgen Schulzki

Kataloge und Publikationen

Mit dem Ziel, die Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst auf verschiedenen Ebenen zu fördern, hat die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst zahlreiche Ausstellungskataloge und Publikationen zu aktuellen Kunst-Themen selbst veröffentlicht oder die Herausgabe unterstützt, darunter die Begleitpublikationen zum Wolfgang-Hahn-Preis, den Katalog zur Ausstellung Joan Mitchell. Retrospective. Her Life and Paintings oder den im Entstehen begriffenen neuen Sammlungskatalog des Museum Ludwig.

Zu den Publikationen der Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst

Zu den Publikationen des Museum Ludwig

Katalog zur Ausstellung "Joan Mitchell. Retrospective. Her Life and Paintings", Museum Ludwig 2015 © Foto (Joan Mitchell mit ihrem Hund Georges du Soleil, 1954) Walt Silver

kunst:dialoge und "Junge Nacht"

Die kunst:dialoge bieten eine Plattform, um sich offen und auf Augenhöhe über Kunst auszutauschen. Studierende der Kunstgeschichte der Universitäten Köln, Bonn und Düsseldorf werden zu Kunstvermittlern ausgebildet und stehen an ausgewählten Terminen im Museum Ludwig bereit, um Fragen rund um die Kunst zu beantworten. Höhepunkt des Programms der kunst:dialoge ist die „Junge Nacht“: Kunstinteressierte haben bis Mitternacht die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam mit 30 jungen Expertinnen und Experten die Sammlung des Museum Ludwig zu entdecken.

Die kunst:dialoge wurden 2003 von jungen Studentinnen und Studenten gemeinsam mit dem Museum Ludwig und der Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst ins Leben gerufen und werden von der Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst gefördert.

Weitere Informationen zu den kunst:dialogen

Junge Kunstinteressierte im Museum Ludwig © Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst

Sonderprojekte und Vorträge

Es sind gerade Veranstaltungen und Projekte „außer der Reihe“, die eine Institution wie das Museum Ludwig zu einem lebendigen und innovativen Ort machen. Vorträge, Filmvorführungen, Lesungen oder Musik eröffnen einen neuen Blick auf die Kunst. Immer wieder fördert die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst deshalb einzelne Veranstaltungen und Projekte wie z. B. Kasper Königs Benefizauktion „Artists for the Museum Ludwig“ im Jahr 2012.

Mit der öffentlichen Vortragsreihe Kunst im Kontext lädt die Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst außerdem seit 2008 ein breites Publikum zur Auseinandersetzung mit ausgewählten Themen in Theorie und Praxis der Kunst ein (Eintritt kostenfrei).

Referentinnen und Referenten der Vortragsreihe "Kunst im Kontext" © Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst